saidye bronfman

saidye bronfman

saidye bronfman

governor general's award



deadline for applications


deadline for interest in ccbc nomination

march 15

The CCBC routinely nominates candidates for the Saidye Bronfman Award. If there is somebody from your community that you would like CCBC to nominate, please email us at awards[@] by March 15th.

The Saidye Bronfman Award recognizes the careers of exceptional artists who have helped shape the field of fine craft. The $25,000 annual prize not only benefits the winning artists—it introduces Canadians to the best in fine craft through special activities, exhibitions, videos and more.

The award was created and continues to be funded by The Samuel and Saidye Bronfman Family Foundation through a $1.5 million endowment.

The Canadian Museum of History is a valuable, long-standing partner that acquires a work from the winning artist for its collection every year.

The Award is administered and promoted by the Canada Council for the Arts as part of the Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts.


past award winners
2023 – Grace Nickel
2022 – Brigitte Clavette
2021 – Lou Lynn
2020 – Anna Torma
2019 – Susan Edgerly
2018 – Jack Sures
2017 – Pamela Ritchie